

KLE COLLEGE OF LAW, NAVI MUMBAI

NATIONAL PARLIAMENTARY DEBATE COMPETITION (ONLINE) 2023

RULE AND REFERENCE BOOK

THE VOICE OF THE COMMON PEOPLE

23RD DECEMBER ONLINE 2023

A DEBSOC INITIATIVE NATIONAL PARLIAMENTARY DEBATE COMPETITION

(ONLINE) 2023

Date of Event:

23rd of December, 2023

Results to be Declared:

23rd of December, 2023

Theme of Competition: Human Rights Topic for Bill Resolution:

The Government calls the opposition for a special hearing on the issue of adopting a Uniform Civil Code for the matters governing marriage, divorce, custody, maintenance, guardianship and succession.

Composition of Participants in a Team:

- 3 participants in a Team.
- Each college shall send one team only (one Leader and two

Parliamentarians) COMPETION

Target Participants:

Under-Graduate students from any stream

Session to be conducted on:

Zoom Platform (online only)

Registration Fees:

Rs.300/- per team

Last Date for Registration: 16th of December, 2023 Maximum Number of Participants: 36 Teams of 3 participants each

Rules of the Competition:

KLE College of Law, Navi Mumbai hereby declares to abide by the following debating rules in the Parliamentary Debate Competition.

- Each debating match will consist of two teams; one to propose the Bill and one to oppose it. The team proposing may be known as *"The Proposition*" or *"The Affirmative."* The team opposing may be known as *"The Opposition*" or *"The Negative."*
- The formal titles of the participants would be, Team 'Proposition' which would consist of *The Prime Minister* and two *Parliamentarians* and likewise Team 'Opposition' would consist of *The Leader of Opposition* and two *Parliamentarians*.
- Each debate shall be adjudicated upon by judges selected by the Host.
- Language of the competition The competition shall be strictly conducted

in **English language** only and it will be the medium of communication for all purposes of the competition.

- Participants must keep their Video-Cameras on visible mode during their participation in the session.
- Participants should ensure proper network connectivity before and during the session. Participants shall not be given any extra time for speaking in case of disconnection due to low network or any technical glitch from the Participant's side. In case there is any technical issue from the Host's side, extension of the time limit may be given accordingly.
- All participants must refrain from disclosing their own identity and that of their institution at any time and in any manner, during the entire course of participation in the competition

- The Competition shall consist of three Rounds, namely:
- 1. Preliminary Round
- 2. Semi-Final Round
- 3. Final Round
- The position allotted to each team for the Debate shall be intimated to participants along with their time slot by the 22nd of December at 4:00 pm. Kindly ensure your e-mail id is correct during your registration.
- The Teams should join the Waiting Room minimum *fifteen minutes* prior to their scheduled starting time for the debate.
- There will be two types of formal speeches in each round of debate: constructive speeches and rebuttal speeches.
- Participants must note that the order of speaking must be certain at the time of Registration and that this order of speaking shall be maintained throughout the competition, without any scope for change.

The order for each speech in the debating match would be as follows:

- a) First Proposition
- b) First Opposition
- c) Second Proposition
- d) Second Opposition
- e) Opposition Rebuttal
- f) Proposition Rebuttal

Timing of the Speeches:

It shall be the duty of the timekeeper, or of a panellist or Chair (in absence of a timekeeper), to time all the speeches in each round. The timing of each speech starts at the moment that the member begins speaking.

Substantive Speeches

Specific Rounds	Time allotted	Time Split
Preliminary Rounds	7 minutes each team	Team 'Proposition' First Proposition: 3 minutes Second Proposition: 2 minutes Proposition Rebuttal: 2 minutes Team 'Opposition' First Proposition: 3 minutes Second Proposition: 2 minutes Proposition Rebuttal: 2 minutes
Semi-finals	NATIONA PARLAMENT/ DEBATE 8 minutes each team	Team 'Proposition' First Proposition: 3 minutes Second Proposition: 3 minutes Proposition Rebuttal: 2 minutes

	8 minutes each team	Team 'Opposition' First Proposition: 3 minutes Second Proposition: 3 minutes Proposition Rebuttal: 2 minutes
Finals	9 minutes each team	Team 'Proposition' First Proposition: 4 minutes Second Proposition: 3 minutes Proposition Rebuttal: 2 minutes Team 'Opposition' First Proposition: 4 minutes Second Proposition: 3 minutes Proposition Rebuttal: 2 minutes

Judging Parameters:

Each Team would be adjudicated on the following

- 1. Subject knowledge
- 2. Language
- 3. Presentation skill
- 4. Leadership skill
- 5. Oratory skill
- 6. Rebuttal skill

Registration procedure:

Registration fees: Participants are required to register by paying the fees by way of online payment mode and follow the steps given below to complete the registration.

- **Step 1:** Participants are required to submit registration fees of Rs 300/- by way of online payment mode as per the details given below;
- **Step 2:** Fill out the Google form after you transact the registration fee along with the Payment Slip/ Screenshot of the transaction. Kindly find the link to the Google Form (Attaching the Screenshot/ Payment Slip is mandatory);
- **Step 3:** The Participants shall receive a confirmation mail regarding their participation over the Competition from the hosting institution.

Bank Details for the payment:

Name of Bank: Canara Bank Bank Account No.: 4652101002417 IFSC Code: CNRB004652 Name of Account Holder: KLE College of Law Name of Branch: Khandeshwar Kamothe



KINDLY SCAN THE Q.R. CODE FOR PAYMENT

Link to the Google Form for registration:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1R5ObRk7t8oJpl1lk01-2iFs4ELLxKFua0O8tMvAHa_s/edit?pli=1#settings

Prizes & Certificates

First Prize: e-Certificate of Merit + Cash Prize of Rs. 3000/-. **Second Prize:** e-Certificate of Merit + Cash Prize of Rs. 2000/-. **Third Prize:** e-Certificate of Merit + Cash Prize of Rs. 1500/-.

Titles/Awards

Best Leader: e-Certificate of Merit + Cash Prize of Rs. 1000/-. **Best Parliamentarian:** e-Certificate of Merit + Cash Prize of Rs. 1000/-.

Clarifications:

Any clarifications for the competitions can be sought from:

Faculty Co-Ordinator:

1. Asst. Prof. Bipasha Bandopadhyay-+919893461157

2. Asst. Prof. Ranjana Sathiavageeswaran - +917506016585 Student Co-Ordinator:

1. Nikita Rawat- +919619566963

2. Milind Prasad-+918850643584

COMPETITION